Long before the town was formally established, the site was a much frequented outspan on the transport route between Lydenburg and Natal. Because the area is well watered and dotted with freshwater lakelets it soon attracted settlers.

Today the town is an educational, commercial and industrial center for a district where comprehensive mixed farming is practiced.

The Nooitgedacht research station of the department of Agriculture, 4km from the town, conducts research into crop production and animal husbandry.

There is large-scale afforestation (pine, water and blue gum) in the eastern parts of the district. Several large mines extract coal and the district is the countrys main source of anthracite and torbanite.


Anglo-Boer War Memorial:
Near the Dutch Reformed Church in the town center is this commemoration of those who lost their lives in the Anglo-Boer War.

Le Goya Village:
The ruins of a settlement of the areas early inhabitants, dating to around 1400.

San Rock Artwork:
These fascinating pieces of history adorn the walls of many surrounding caves and shelters.

Paul Kruger Bridge:
Upon its construction in 1897, at 124m it was the largest bridge in the Transvaal. Now a national monument over the Vaal River.

Many dams in the area are now equipped with recreational and accommodation facilities. These include the Willem Brummer and Pet dams.
Ermelo Ermelo Ermelo
Ermelo Accommodation Map Open Ermelo Location in Mobile Maps

Accommodation Map

Map Place holder
Click to display the map