De Zoete Inval was originally granted by Simon van der Stel in 1688 to Hercule des Pres. Robert Frater arrived here in 1878 to find the original cellar (which today houses the tasting room) and vineyards in production on the farm.

For many years port was made for KWV, the highlight of which was the General Smuts trophy for the grand champion wine on the South African Wine Show in 1955.

Since then, the demand for Port has declined and Cabernet Sauvignon was planted on quite a large scale and with some pre-1920 vineyards dry red wines have been produced on De Zoete Inval.

More recently Chenin Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay have been planted and some interesting white wines are made which last five to six years.

The wine tasting centre occupies the original farm cellar which was in use when the Frater family came to De Zoete Inval in 1878. It was subsequently transformed into the manor house. In 1991 it was converted into a tasting centre which resembles a bar complete with fireplace and underfloor heating for the winter months

De Zoete Inval's tasting centre has become a popular meeting place for family, friends and visitors. Cheese and cheese pastry are served to sharpen the palate.

De Zoete Inval Estate's range of red and white wines can be tasted and bought in the tasting centre. It is open Monday to Saturday with guides to assist your interest, knowledge, experience and feeling for wine.

De Zoete Inval Wine Estate De Zoete Inval Wine Estate De Zoete Inval Wine Estate
Paarl Accommodation Map Open Paarl Location in Mobile Maps

Accommodation Map

Map Place holder
Click to display the map