Big Five | Elephant | Leopard | Lion | Rhinoceros | Buffalo

Buffalo is part of the famous Big Five of the animal kingdom.

Buffalo - 143137

Buffalo are extremely adaptable animals, being able to occupy open grasslands, wooded savanna and thickets.

Viewing Buffalo in the Wild
Buffalo can be viewed in Parks such as:
* Kruger Park
* Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve
* Ithala Game Reserve

Private reserves and lodges such as:
* Pilanesberg Game Reserve Lodges
* Madikwe Game Reserve Lodges
* Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges in the Eastern Cape
* Thornybush Game Reserve Game Lodges
* Sabi Sand Reserve Game Lodges
* Timbavati Game Reserve Game Lodges
* Kapama Game Reserve Game Lodges

Highly gregarious animals, buffalo associate in herds of up to 1000 or more individuals. Despite being very aggressive and extremely dangerous animals (more hunters are killed by buffaloes than any other animal), buffaloes are very peaceful amongst themselves.

The dominant bull normally is the oldest bull in the herd. Both sexes have horns, but those of males are more robust and heavier. Males can attain a mass of about 800 kg and they have a life span of approximately 20 years.

Buffalo are exclusively grazers.

Female buffalo become sexually matured at the age of 5 years. The gestation period is 11 months and one single calf is born.

The Big Five
Elephants are part of the renowned Big Five of the animal Kingdom which includes Leopard , Lion and Rhinoceros.